A rich full-text literary database covering all genres and time periods, and includes thousands of synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals, author biographies, classic novels, short stories, and poems. Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Using Literary Reference Source
Literary Reference Source
Literary Reference Source is a rich full-text literary database covering all genres and time periods. It includes thousands of synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals, and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories, and poems. Combining information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals and original content from EBSCO, Literary Reference Source features an expansive collection of classic and contemporary full-text poems, short stories, and novels.
Additional Content Highlights
Reference texts including Beacham’s Research Guide to Biography and Criticism (six volumes), The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature, and all of MagillOnLiterature Plus
Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature
Informational texts on numerous literary genres, themes and forms, as well as critical essays on specific works and authors
Research Guide to Literary Research, Writing and Critical Reading
Literary glossary featuring more than 1,700 terms
Lesson plans to support classroom instruction
Rich multimedia content to enhance curriculum delivery
Features and Functionality
Literary Reference Source offers the following functionality:
Google Drive, Microsoft OneDrive, and Google Classroom integration for easy saving and sharing of content
Easy-to-browse categories of most studied authors and works, plus the ability to sort search results by content type, publication date, subject, or publication
Text-to-speech for HTML and PDF articles to assist auditory learners, struggling readers, or those learning English
Citation tool to help users format bibliographic references, as well as the ability to save, print, and e-mail citations directly from the interface
Searching Literary Reference Source
To search Literary Reference Center, you have quite a few options. You may input your query into the search bar, or browse by authors, works, publications or more.
One extremely usual feature of Literary Reference Center is full-text pdfs of many classic literature works.
To access these works simply select "Full Text Classics" from the side bar.
From here, browse for your desired classic.
Then, click on the title to view the full details.
On the left-hand side of the screen, you can select the full-text pdf to view.
About this Guide
Information for this guide provided compliments of EBSCO.
