LibGuides: All Databases Tutorials: Biography Reference Source

Biography Reference Source

Biography Reference Source
Creating Persistent Links

Biography Reference Source
Over 380,000 full-text biographies from the world's most reliable sources, including the complete run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.

To create a persistent, shareable link, click the 3 dots to the right of the resource's title. Then click "Share."

A new box will open. Click "Create Link" and a URL will be generated below. This can be shared in course shells, syllabi, or with KU-affiliated users.

Using Biography Reference Source

Biography Reference Source provides over 380,000 unique and reliable full-text biographies, including the complete full text of Biography and Biography Today.

The database homepage has a search box in the middle of the page. You can search any combination of keywords, such as person's name, occupation, activity, nationality, gender, birthplace, and more. The search box is located in the middle of the database's homepage, as shown below.

On the results page, there are several filters in drop-down menus. These include:

All filters (contains the filters below, plus subject, publisher, language, and more)
Linked full text
Peer review
All time (publication date range)
Source type (includes journal articles, books, chapters, etc.)

Beneath the listing for each resource, you will see an option to access the material. Here are a few of them:

"PDF Full Text" - click to access the PDF to read and download
"Online Full Text" - links out to another location where you can access the resource, such as an individual journal
"Access Options" - drop-down menu where you can choose PDF download or other options