Skip to Main Content

All Databases

A how-to of the Kettering & MeL databases

SAE Mobilus

Creating a persistent link:

To share a persistent link from IBIS World, you will need to add Kettering University's proxy to ensure all users both on and off campus can access it. 

To do so, first, select the "share" option above the article title you wish to share, and copy the URL, which in this case is: 

https://saemobilus.sae.org/content/J3102_202206/

Next, add Kettering University's proxy BEFORE the URL as shown below:

https://kettering.idm.oclc.org/login?url= added to 

https://saemobilus.sae.org/content/J3102_202206/ equals your new persistent link:

https://kettering.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://saemobilus.sae.org/content/J3102_202206/

Using The Society of Automotive Engineers Mobilus

What is SAE International

SAE International [Society of Automotive Engineers] is a global association of more than 128,000 engineers and related technical experts in aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. Their core competencies are life-long learning and voluntary consensus standards development.

There is a Mid-Michigan Chapter with a Facebook page and Kettering students are also part of Formula SAE.


What is SAE's Mobilus?

Kettering subscribes to SAE Mobilus, which contains hundreds of thousands of the most current technical papers, standards, and related publications. Off-campus access is granted using your Kettering login (Previously named SAE Digital Library)

Writing an SAE Paper

Why consider SAE technical paper authorship?

SAE International technical conferences—one of the mechanisms for technical paper development and presentation—offer an excellent opportunity for publishing your work and sharing your expertise with others in industry.

By publishing your research with SAE, your technical findings become part of the society's globally respected paper collection. This vast collection—dating back to 1906—consists of more than 73,000 peer-reviewed technical papers and contributes to SAE's status as the preeminent resource for advancing mobility engineering.

Want to write a technical paper? Here you will find general guidelines and related information on writing and submitting an SAE paper.

At any given time, SAE has open Calls for Papers on their website. These are conferences, symposiums and journals where SAE is publishing new work.

Step 1: Start by searching SAE MobilusOff-campus users will need their Kettering login to authenticate.

  • It indexes all SAE publications (standards, technical papers, books, journals) from 1906 onwards.
  • Use the search box at the top of the screen, and leave the dropdown menu on Metadata + Full Text.

  • Make sure you are viewing the "Subscribed" content tab only because this will limit the results to documents Kettering owns.

Step 2: Found what you want? Use the DOWNLOAD button. 

  • The PRINT button will only print the preview screen of your document.
  • Using DOWNLOAD will download the full paper. You might be given an option for a PDF file or EPUB file. We recommend PDF.
  • The EXPORT button will allow you to send the citation to a program like RefWorks or BibTex.

‚Äč

Step 3: What if you can't find what  you need? 

  • If you think you should be able to find a technical paper or standard in SAE Mobilus but can't, send an email to library@kettering.edu and let the librarians help.
  • If you see a document in the "Unsubscribed" section you would like to access, send an email to mod@kettering.edu or fill out the Article Request form and we will obtain it for you.

Knowledge Hubs

 


New Knowledge Hubs have been made available in SAE Mobilus! If you click on "knowledge hubs" in the top navigation bar you can see the new cybersecurity and automated & connected hubs. In here there is lots of information on autonomous vehicles.  

Conferences

Kettering has official SAE Proceedings from over 50 conferences. Browse them here. Conference Proceedings have a P- designation, like P-386. Below is a brief sampling of what we have on hand:

Journals

To browse SAE's current magazine and journal offerings, see the Publication section of their website.

Books

Kettering owns over 450 SAE Books from as far back as 1945. They include standards, recommended practices, retrospectives, technical reports, and special papers. 

Books have letter designations. HS=Handbook Supplement   PT=Progress in Technology   SP=Special Publication

Below is a brief sampling of what books we have on hand:

How to Understand the Numbering System for SAE Technical Papers

Technical Papers have one of two numbering formats:

  • six digit number (941542) for all papers published prior to 1999
  • 10 digit number (2007-01-1542) for all papers published after 2000
  • The first numbers indicate year published, so 941542 = published in 1994 and 2007-01-1542 = published in 2007

SAE papers can be published in SAE Special Publications, in SAE Proceedings, in the SAE Transactions, and in various SAE Journals.

"SP" = Special Publications - a collection of Technical Papers presented at a given session in one conference.
"HS" = Handbook Supplement
"P" = Proceedings
"PT" = Progress in Technology


Our holdings for SAE Technical Papers: 

Kettering has access from 1996→present for Technical Papers in SAE Mobilus.

How to Understand the Numbering System for SAE Standards

All SAE Standards begin with letters. Ground Vehicle Standards start with J; Aerospace Standards start with AS, AMS, AIR and ARP. Standards often have various iterations and updates in different years, so be aware of which version you need.

SAE Ground Vehicle Standards are also called J-Papers or J-Reports because the standard numbers begin with J. The year of the standard is inside its number. For example: 

  • J585_200802 Tail Lamps
  • J513_199901 Refrigeration Tube Fittings

Pay attention to "Current" versus "Historical" standards. The number of the standard changes with the year it was released, but the title does not.


Our holdings for Ground Vehicle Standards:

Kettering has access from 1927→present for all Ground Vehicle Standards in SAE Mobilus. 

We do not have Aerospace Standards in SAE Mobilus.

 Stapp Car Crash Journal

 The Stapp Association is dedicated to the dissemination of research findings in impact biomechanics, human tolerance to   impact trauma, and crash injury protection. This is achieved primarily through the annual Stapp Car Crash Journal and   associated conference. There is a selection of Technical Papers published in the Stapp Car Crash Journal. 


To simply browse papers from the Stapp Car Crash Conference, enter "Stapp Car Crash" in the search box, in Metadata + Full Text. From the limiter on the left choose "My Access" in the Show Only and open Collections, scroll down to STAPP under books. Click apply.


Our holdings for STAPP Car Crash papers: 

Kettering has access from 1966→present for Stapp papers in SAE Mobilus.

What is a Technical Paper? 

SAE Technical Papers present the latest advances in technical research and applied technical engineering information. They are written and peer-reviewed by experts in the automotive, aerospace, and commercial vehicle industries. Following is a list of topics covered.


What is an SAE Standard? 

SAE International provides a forum for companies, government agencies, research institutions and consultants to devise technical standards and recommended practices for the design, construction, and characteristics of motor vehicle components. SAE documents do not carry any legal force, but are in some cases referenced by the US National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and Transport Canada in those agencies' vehicle regulations.

SAE Standards come in two flavors  vehicle and aerospace.

SAE Ground Vehicle Standards (J-Reports): SAE publishes more than 1,600 technical standards and recommended practices for passenger cars and other roadgoing vehicles. These provide industry references for measurement of engine power, motor oil classification, tool and fastener sizes, and onboard diagnostic connectors and codes. SAE also publishes standards and recommended practices for headlamps and other vehicular lighting, brakes, automatic transmission fluid, communication networks, electric vehicle charging systems, vehicle ergonomics, and numerous other aspects of vehicle design, construction, performance, and durability.

SAE Aerospace Standards (AS): SAE publishes over 6,400 technical documents for the aerospace industry. Aerospace Standards apply to missile, airframe, ground-support equipment, propulsion, propeller, and accessory equipment. 

SAE Aerospace Materials Specifications (AMS): a subset of Aerospace Standards governing materials science and engineering for aerospace applications.  

SAE Aerospace Recommended Practices (ARP): standards recommendations for engineering practice.

SAE Aerospace Information Reports (AIR):  these contain general accepted engineering data and information.


What is a Transaction?

A transaction is a fancy word for regularly published conference proceedings, similar to a scholarly journal. It is commonly used in technical and scientific fields such as engineering.

transactions (noun, plural)  
— the published records of the proceedings, as papers read, addresses delivered, or discussions, at the meetings of a learned society or association

Some examples include:

  • Transactions of the American Mathematical Society
  • IEEE Transactions on Multimedia
  • Metallurgical and Materials Transactions

Library Homepage

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter